The Breakspear School

  1. Archives
  2. The 1990s
  3. 1996
  4. RAF Energy Poster Competition

RAF Energy Poster Competition

RAF Energy Conservation Poster Competition
Autumn Term -1996

In the Autumn of 1996 Breakspear Junior School, along with a number of other schools, was invited to take part in a competition to design an Energy Conservation poster to be used by the RAF base at Uxbridge. 
In the event just three schools took part: Breakspear, St Andrews and Whitehall. 

The competition was run by Mr Ray Gray and Sqn Ldr H.Firth of RAF Uxbridge, and was open to children in Years 4, 5 & 6. 
It was decided that ten children from each school should be selected as winners,with one from each being an overall winner. 
These pupils would be treated to a trip to Didcot Power Station, Didcot Railway and a meal at Uxbridge MacDonalds.

Mr Gray and Gp Capt. A. McLaughlin visited school on 8 November to announce the winners. They were: 
Christopher Dowthwaite (Y6), Christopher Dyer (Y6), Adam Hawkin (Y6), Claire Przybyla (Y6), Luke Dhanoh (Y5), Jonathan Friend (Y5), Rebecca Holmes (Y4), Robbie Wells (Y4), Luke Talbot (Y4), and overall winner Jonathan Haynes (Y6).

The visit to Didcot took place on 20 November, Dr Rutter accompanying the children from Breakspear.